Special Thanks

This time I don’t really have much to direct the blog at, but there’s a malestrom of things running through my mind. This summer so far has proved to be a test of my integrity and maturity. I lost my job behind the foolish antics of others. For that my test was to maintain my composure when all the West Coast wanted to come out. That was maybe the most stressful thing I’ve encountered when it comes to the rest of the world.

The greatest battle is the one I’m waging with myself musically. I can honestly say that I wrote my latest music, in its current state, completely by accident. Music and singing have been my refuge for the past few years and slowly my lyrical prowess has emerged as an empowering quality when I face my peers in the college music scene. My biggest insecurity up to this evening has been that my talent wasn’t enough to keep up with the rest of the gifted individuals I share the stage with. Since I was in high school I’ve always been the dude with the good voice. I have a good deal of stage experience with an opera, a few musicals, and many live sets under my belt. I still felt something missing though.

Not until I’ve damn near graduated college have I really begun to recognize and embrace my art in its true untainted nature. Life has been more than challenging for me (no complaints yet) and it sparked the fire that I have been striking at since my days singing with Felicia Smith at Wossman High.

Today I’m more than a singer…I’m a musician. More than a musician, I’m a writer, growing with every stroke of my pen. Today I sing, but I do more with it now and have a hunger to be heard and make a difference with what I say. It was said best by Xem Van Adams, the man that inspired my blog journey, “making a difference one word at time.” I’m satisfied with my music now, but at the same time I always want to be improving some facet of my artistry.

I want to thank every artist I’ve encountered over the past few years, including Killa Kel, Cameron Roland, Alise Greeley, Zuri Fontaine, Ma’ya Blount, Jermaul Lewis, and Felicia Smith. A big thank you is extended to the talented members of Lyrical Quest for introducing me to the impact of REAL lyrics. You all have made an impact on my career whether or not you all have realized it. I am a better artist for having you all in my life.

3 Responses to “Special Thanks”

  1. Therefore – what are you committed to believing about yourself?

  2. Dianna Brown Says:

    Nephew,
    What profound statements you have made, and what an outstanding young man you have turned out to be. I am proud of your accomplishments and what you have done with your life. Continue on down the path that you have chosen and keep God first in your life. He will direct your path to the avenue that you are supposed to follow. Your grandparents and daddy would be proud of you also. Prompts to your mother for keeping you on the right path and encouraging you to persevere.

    I love you and hope all the best for you upon graduation and your future.

  3. @Coach…I’m committed nowadays to my art as a living extension of myself…allowing it to mature and grow as I do.

    @Dianna thank you for taking time out to contribute to my newest adventure. I’m always seeking new ways to communicate with the world around me.

Leave a comment